The 1975

The 1975

I love music, plain and simple, I don’t know what I would do if I didn’t have it.  I love making music, listening to it, finding new artists and musicians and going to concerts and everything else in between.  I have been to so many concerts I can’t even count how many I have been to.  I remember my first concert like it was yesterday; it was to a Green Day concert when I was only in forth grade, it was really funny because my friend and I were the only kids there.  And the most recent concert being The 1975 and I even have tickets bought for future concerts.

The 1975 are a little known alternative rock/ indie group from Manchester, England.  The group consists of Matthew Healy (vocals, guitar), Adam Hann (guitar), George Daniel (drums), and Ross MacDonald (bass).  Before releasing their debut album, which was released on September 2, 2013, they have tour with some of the biggest names in music some including The Rolling Stones, Artic Monkey’s, Muse, and The Neighbourhood and are on the rise themselves.

I first heard of the band when they had played earlier this year on Conan, they had played one of their biggest hits on the show.  The song they played was their first single from their album, Chocolate.  When I first heard them play I instantly fell in love with their music.  It was vey different than anything I have heard.  They had very smooth vocals and a very mellow, stripped down style which I really like compared to most musicians attention-grabbing production.  Also all of their music videos are in black in white, which I really like because it makes it more about the music instead of their appearance or anything else.

As soon as I heard they were coming to Milwaukee I knew I had to go.  I had purchased tickets online and the tickets were only thirteen dollars because they are not well known yet.  The concert was held in Milwaukee on October 20, 2013 at The Rave/ Eagles Club.  I invited a friend to come along who had never heard of them before.  As soon as we got to the venue we headed inside and made sure to get a good spot and to do this we squeezed our way to the front because there are no seats and we ended up getting front row.  The opening band came on to the stage first and played for about forty-five minutes.  They were really good they are also a little known group who The 1975 had picked to play with them on their tour.  Their name was Linus. Young.  They were really good they play similar music to The 1975, alternative rock.  Next there was an intermission that way all the instruments could be switched out and the stage could be changed.

Then after about fifteen minutes The 1975 came out and played for about an hour and play some of there songs including Chocolate, The City, Girls, Heart Out and Settle Down just to name a few.  They played a great show but its really funny when they sing because normally when someone from the England for example sings they get rid of their accent but in their case you can really hear their accent, its almost harder to understand them when they sing, they defiantly have a unique and distinctive voice.  I know when anyone first hears their music they have no idea what they are saying.  It does take some getting used to but overall it was a great concert and one that I will not forgot and I hope they come back around here because I would love to see them again in the future.

4899055

Leave a Reply

