Tremblay’s Sweet Shop

When it comes to food i’m not a picky eater what so ever.  I will eat pretty much anything whether it is oysters, caviar, brussels sprouts, anything except the one thing I will not eat is black licorice.  Black licorice is one of those food that you either love or hate and I hate it.  I find black licorice absolutely disgusting.

Every year when I was younger my grandparents would rent a cabin up north in Hayward on the lake and we would spend a week or so up there with the family.  We would go up there and go fishing, swimming, sightseeing and shopping; which was my favorite part.  We would go into town a couple of the days when we were up there and I remember we would always go into an old time candy shop it was called Tremblay’s Sweet Shop and it is located on main street.  They had so much candy; salt water taffy, brittle, toffee, fudge and much more.  I don’t think I could chose a favorite but I loved being able to to see the fudge being made and tasting it when it was finished.  We would always buy so much candy but the candy didn’t last long.

When we would go to this old time candy shop everyone had a favorite candy that they would always look forward to.  Mine was the fudge, Dads was the peanut butter balls, Grandmas was the old fashion hard candy, and Grandpas was the licorice but not just any licorice, black licorice.  When we would go up there he would always buy a ton of it.  He would also buy black licorice pipes by the boxes, he would buy four of them so it could last him till next year when we came again.

One year when we went up to Hayward and went into Tremblay’s Sweet Shop I had already bought some fudge and was waiting for everyone else and Grandpa was talking to me about the black licorice and black licorice pipes and I told him that I’ve never had black licorice and he looked at me like I was crazy.  He made sure that before we left that old time candy shop I tried it.   I was hesitant at first to try it because I thought licorice was suppose to be red not black but I tried it anyway.

It was one of the most repulsive things I think I have ever tried and I have tried many things but nothing like that.  It was absolutely disgusting I wanted to spit it out right in the middle of the shop but that would of been rude so I sucked it up and swallowed it.  I remember telling my Grandpa that black licorice should not be someones favorite candy or even come close to a favorite.  Still to this day I will not eat black licorice but its still my Grandpas favorite.  TremblaysHaywardSM2

Leave a Reply

